Calif. law: It's not rape if you're a single lady

NEED TO KNOW
  • When is a rape a rape?
  • One controversial California law makes a distinction between single and married women

A rape isn't a rape unless the female victim is married. That's what a California law says. The law dates back to 1872, and it is the reason at least one rape conviction was overturned.

In the case, the man is accused of entering an 18-year-old woman's dark bedroom and pretending to be her boyfriend. What happened next has California in the spotlight.

Watch above to get the complete story.

 

 

Join the conversation...

HLNtv.com welcomes a lively and courteous discussion as long as you follow the Rules of Conduct set forth in our Terms of Service. Comments are not pre-screened before they post. You agree that anything you post may be used, along with your name and profile picture, in accordance with our Privacy Policy and the license you have granted pursuant to our Terms of Service.
Cops: Man stabbed ex's 11-year-old over breakup
Justice | See all 1865 items Cops: Man stabbed ex's 11-year-old over breakup

Advertisement