By using this site, you agree to the Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Close X

Morning Express with Robin Meade

A fast, personal, and smart blend of all the news you want in the morning. We call it "News in the Fast Lane." So buckle up.

'Argo' wins best pic at British Film Awards

  • Anne Hathaway takes statue for 'Les Miserables' performance
  • 'Skyfall' wins best British movie
Actor and director Ben Affleck poses with the Best Film and Best Director awards for his film Argo during the annual BAFTA British Academy Film Awards at the Royal Opera House in London on February 10, 2013

The British Academy Film Awards were handed out its awards in London last night. 

The political thriller "Argo" won BAFTAs for best film and best director for Ben Affleck. 

Affleck was also nominated for best actor, but Daniel Day-Lewis ended up with that statue for his performance in "Lincoln." That film had more nominations than any other in the field.

The James Bond movie "Skyfall" won for outstanding British film.  It's the first British film award for the Bond series in its 50-year history.

Anne Hathaway took home the supporting actress award for her role in "Les Miserables."

Here's a list of some of the other winners: 

Best Director:
Ben Affleck – "Argo "

Outstanding British Film:

Best Film:

Leading Actor:
Daniel Day-Lewis - "Lincoln" 

Leading Actress:
Emmanuelle Riva - "Amour"  

Supporting Actor:
Christoph Waltz - "Django Unchained"

Supporting Actress:
Anne Hathaway - "Les Misérables"

Find a list of all the winners on the BAFTA website.

Join the conversation... welcomes a lively and courteous discussion as long as you follow the Rules of Conduct set forth in our Terms of Service. Comments are not pre-screened before they post. You agree that anything you post may be used, along with your name and profile picture, in accordance with our Privacy Policy and the license you have granted pursuant to our Terms of Service.
5-word acceptance speeches: Best of the Webby Awards!
Awards Shows | See all 271 items 5-word acceptance speeches: Best of the Webby Awards!